Pepperdine Responds to DACA Repeal Announcement

September 5, 2017  | 2 min read

TO: Pepperdine Campus Community
FROM:  Connie Horton, Vice President for Student Affairs  
DATE:  September 5, 2017  
RE: DACA Repeal Announcement

Today the US Department of Justice announced the Trump Administration's decision to repeal the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program. While the decision was widely anticipated, we understand and empathize with the members of our community who may once again be experiencing feelings of uncertainty and fear related to changes in federal immigration policy. The University is working diligently to understand the full scope of the change in DACA policy to determine its impact on our students and higher education institutions in the United States. We are praying that Congress will act productively and compassionately in the next six months as it addresses this program and the hundreds of thousands of people impacted by it.

Pepperdine remains committed, without exception, to the safety and protection of our students, faculty, and staff. In the coming days, International Student Services, General Counsel, and Student Affairs will be partnering to strengthen guidance issued around these decisions, and the University will continue to provide students with up-to-date information around these issues on our immigration policy Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) page. Students are also encouraged to discuss their questions and concerns in confidence with those noted on the FAQ page.

In preparation for the change in DACA policy, the University has assembled a variety of support options for students who may be impacted:

The Pepperdine Law Immigration Clinic supports Pepperdine students affected by DACA, changes in immigration law, and executive orders on international travel with legal advice and counsel from Pepperdine law professors and students. Services and all communication are privileged, confidential, and available at no cost to students from all five schools. Students with questions or in need of legal services should email Professor Jeff Baker at jeff.baker@pepperdine.edu or Professor Tanya Cooper at tanya.cooper@pepperdine.edu.

The Counseling Center provides free, confidential emotional/psychological support to all Pepperdine students, regardless of national origin or immigration status. Students may contact the Counseling Center at 310.506.4210 or student.counseling.center@pepperdine.edu to arrange an appointment at the Malibu campus location, or the Counseling Center will provide a referral to those needing services in other locations. Questions may be directed to Nivla Fitzpatrick, director of the Counseling Center, at nivla.fitzpatrick@pepperdine.edu.

The Office of the Chaplain stands ready to provide pastoral support to the Pepperdine community. Please contact chaplain Sara Barton at sara.barton@pepperdine.edu or associate chaplain Eric Wilson at eric.wilson@pepperdine.edu. Chaplains can also be reached at 310.506.4275.

The Intercultural Affairs Office and the associate dean for diversity and inclusion are available for dialogue on these critical topics. Please contact intercultural affairs staff at 310.506.6860 or associate dean David Humphrey at david.humphrey@pepperdine.edu or 310.506.4918.

Pepperdine University proudly celebrates and supports the diversity found in our campus communities worldwide. If you have ideas about how we might continue to improve our efforts to do so, please let us know.