Pepperdine Claims 2011-2012 Division I-AAA All-Sports Trophy

July 27, 2012  | 1 min read

For the third time in school history, Pepperdine University has claimed the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association All-Sports Trophy, which is awarded to the Division I school without football that has the most postseason success over the course of the school year.

“We are honored to receive the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association All-Sports Trophy for 2011-2012,” says Steve Potts, director of athletics. “This award illustrates the commitment, dedication, and sacrifice of an incredibly talented group of student-athletes and coaches who represent Pepperdine University in such an exemplary fashion. We wish to thank the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association for this special recognition.”

Pepperdine won the first two times the award was given, in 2004-2005 and 2005-2006. The Waves ended Denver’s four-year hold on the trophy. UC Irvine (2006-2007) is the only other school to win the prize.

Results are based on the Learfield Sports Director’s Cup standings, which measure where all Division I teams finish in NCAA postseason play. Pepperdine finished 64th overall with 334.0 points. The Waves had six programs advance to the NCAA Championships and contribute to the scoring: men’s tennis (final four), women’s volleyball (quarterfinals), baseball (regional final), women’s golf (21st place), women’s tennis (second round), and women’s soccer (first round).

The women’s golf, men’s tennis, and women’s volleyball teams won individual sport trophies as the top I-AAA finisher at NCAA Championship events, while the Waves shared the women’s tennis trophy with Long Beach State.

There are 95 I-AAA schools. The other I-AAA schools that rounded out the top five in this year’s standings were UC Irvine (274.0), Boston (230.0), Denver (227.5), and Long Beach State (226.0).