Pepperdine Honors 2017 Athletics Hall of Fame Inductees

November 2, 2017  | 1 min read

Olympians, All-Americans, and a long-time administrator were inducted into the Pepperdine Athletics Hall of Fame on October 15.

The class of 2017 inductees include Vilma Charlton (’69, MA ’73), women’s track; Paul Faries (’87), baseball; Angela Lawrence (’99), women’s tennis; Jesse Smith (’05), men’s water polo; and Michael Zapolski (’85, MBA ’00), administration.

“The annual Hall of Fame ceremony is always one of my favorite events of the year,” said Athletics Director Steve Potts (JD ’82). “We are very pleased to be able to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of these five remarkable alumni who contributed so much to the success and legacy of their programs and the department.”

This year’s group will join 120 individuals, 14 teams, and 8 special achievement recipients that have already been enshrined since

the establishment of the Pepperdine Athletics Hall of Fame in 1980.

Meet this year’s inductees: